The International Short Film Festival of India 2007 was organized by DBICA in collaboration with Das Management and Educational Services, Canada on the 6th and 7th of January 2007 at DBICA. Among the 176 entries that came in for this festival from 23 countries only, the very best 49 films from 13 countries were short listed and screened during the two days.

The ISFFI was inaugurated solemnly by the noted Director and Producer Saran in the presence of Fr. Stanislaus Swamikannu, the head of Don Bosco Institutions – Chennai and various other dignitaries. There were 28 films screened on the first day in 4 streams.

The second day of the festival was inaugurated by Dr. Deva Joe – the editor of Arumbu and director of Arumbu Publications, Mr. Antony, a prominent film editor and by Mr. Raghavendra, a noted cameraman. There were 21 films screened on the second day.

The 49 films that were screened fall into a number of genres including drama, comedy, science fiction, fantasy, animation and action. The scope of this festival was to illustrate to film lovers the power of short films to deal with different themes, and to expose the local film makers and the people of Chennai to a high quality short films that have been made recently with latest film making techniques and narrative styles. It was also to present short films as a viable genre and an alternate media. The short films that were screened were indeed some of the best films of the world today, and many of these films that were screened have won international awards. The best three were chosen after it went through three panels of juries, two in Chennai and one in Canada. The films were divided into three categories, short-short (under five minutes), medium short (under twenty minutes) and short (above twenty minutes).

The Award ceremony of the International Short Film Festival took place on the 7th evening in the presence of Director R.K. Selvamani, Director Shanmugasundram, Fr. K.M. Jose – the Vice provincial , Mr. Kasturiranganathan – Joint Secretary of the Chennai Port Trust and many other dignitaries. Director R.K Selvamani spoke on the importance of short films and announced the inners. The winner of the short-short film category was the short film Made in USA by Sebastian Apodaca. For the medium short film category, it was awarded to LUCKY by Avie Luthra and for the short film category it was A.W.O.L by Jack Swanstrom. The Best Cinematography Award was given to the short film LEFT by Alexandre Philippe, the Best Editing Award was given to WOODEN SOUL by Rehana Rose Khan and the Best Acting Award was given to LUCKY by Avie Luthra.

The International short film of India was indeed a very good attempt, and all those who participated in it expressed that they had a taste of world class cinema.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>