Don Bosco Institute of Communication Arts (DBICA) has successfully conducted the 8th version of its short film festival on Saturday, 25th April 2009. Started in 2000 to encourage young film makers and to provide a channel to expose themselves to the mainstream media, DBICA Short Film Festival (DSFF) has attained its adulthood and many a media institute vie for a tie up ventures with DBICA.

The Chennai sultry weather introduced a lethargic crowd to the festival in the morning. As the heat rose in the morning sky, the temper in the AC Hall reached its peak as the participants had to really struggle to find an empty seat.

Mr. Na. Azagappan, film director and consultant to eminent production houses, had presided over the inaugural session along with Fr. Harris, the Director of DBICA. Fr. Harris welcomed the gathering and thanked the producers of short films for sending their product for the festival. Mr. Azagappan enumerated the role of short films and how media institutes like DBICA can play a vital role in making short films enter the mainstream media.

A staggering total of 60 short films were registered for the festival. The jury had to cross swords to pick the best 25 short films to be screened for the festival. Professor L. Chinnappan, Loyola College, Chennai, headed the 5 member panel of jury.

Film Director and Actor, Mr. Stanley, presided over the award ceremony along with Mr. Chinnappan, the jury head. Both of them spoke at length about the responsible use of this medium and on the responsibility of media institutes. Mr. Stanley distributed certificates for all the participants and gave away cash awards to the winners. Mr. Gangai Kumar, the festival coordinator thanked everyone.

The vibrant breezy evening favoured the meeting of various artistes, provided a friendly platform to discuss media matters and a homely atmosphere to discuss the struggles of an artist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>