The 3rd International Short Film Festival of India (ISFFI 2009) was concluded with an exceptionally outstanding Award Ceremony of ISFFI 2009 that took place on the 29th March at 05.30 p.m. in the presence of special dignitaries such as Mr. Balaji Sakthivel, a reputed and established Film Director, Mr. RD Rajasekar, acknowledged Cinematographer, Mr. Sasi, well known Film Director and Mr. M.S. Vadivelu a philanthropist & MD, Mathi Leathers Pvt. Ltd. and an ardent promoter of Short Films, Fr. Sagayaraj, Economer, Chennia Province, Mrs. Silvia Cromm, JDW, Germany Harris, Director DBICA. Fr. Harris spoke on behalf of the jury, and explained the way the ratings were done and he stressed that there should be theatres that should regularly screen short films just as feature films and more organizations should promote short films and film makers. Director Balaji Sakthivel in his message brought into focus the challenges that awaited this genre of short films and encouraged the film makers to venture with more creativity and imagination. Mr. Sasi in his speech expressed his delight in participating in a short film festival for the first time and affirmed that the efforts of the short film makers were really praiseworthy. Mr. RD Rajasekar and Mr Ms. Vadivelu expressed great satisfaction and extended their full support. Mr. RD Rajasekar sat through the day watching all the short films.

Several film makers and their crew also participated in the festival and added splendour to it. The responses from the participants were a motivating factor for the organizers. There were 230 entries from 15 countries. The festival coordinator Mr. Antony thanked all the different sponsors and collaborators for the invaluable service they rendered to make the ISFFI 2009 a grand success and they were honoured and presented with a memento. The winners of ISFFI 2009 were declared and the prizes were given by our Chief guests. The short film The Birth by Prasanth Kanathur bagged the first prize while Karna Motcham by S. Murali Manohar won the second prize and third prize was awarded to Bhaskar Jyoti Das for his film Lets Rain Down. Among the international awards, the first place was bagged by Giacomo Arrigoni for The Wooden Shade while the second place was given for Wwoofing by Robin Whenraj and the third place was given to The Note by Jon Greenhalgh.

The awards for the best short film for story and script was given to S.M. Velayutham for his Madasamy. The award for best short film for acting was bagged by Robin for his Nanba. Ripples (Tarang) by Siddartha was chosen as the best short film for editing and direction. Venukumar bagged the award for best cinematography for his Agrahra – A Lament. Time Time Khi Baat Hai by Ankur Kapoor was chosen as best short film for art, continuity, music and sound effects. All the film makers who participated in ISFFI were also felicitated during the screening by Fr. Harris Director, DBICA. The delegates of the different colleges were also presented with a certificate. The chief coordinator of the ISFFI Rev. Harris, proposed the vote of thanks and applauded the efforts of every one who contributed to making the ISFFI 2009 a grand success.

ISFFI 2009 remains unique for the fruitful collaboration it manifested from several colleges and media institutions. The students and staff unanimously expressed their eagerness and joy to work together and plan already for ISFFI 2010. It was another unique and memorable film festival time in Chennai.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>